Handwriting helps people retain more information, generate more ideas, research shows

03JPWRIT3-articleLarge

The physical act of writing things out activates pathways in the brain different from those activated when typing on a keyboard.

I keyboard or thumb-type almost everything. The one exception: When I’m at a conference or doing a face-to-face interview, I write the notes by hand using a stylus on my iPad and the Notability app. Notability doesn’t do handwriting recognition, but it captures images of what I write and saves them as PDFs. However, I had problems with that system at my last conference.

What’s Lost As Handwriting Fades

13 thoughts on “Handwriting helps people retain more information, generate more ideas, research shows

Leave a Reply

